Saturday 7 January 2017

Album of the Year 2016 Shortlist Announced.

Yup its that time of year when the Sunday Rockshow on BCFM announces its 12 shortlisted albums for it's annual album of the year award.

The award, which is designed to celebrate the best in underground rock is now in its 10th year and is becoming a much anticipated annual event.

To qualify an album must...
a) Be a full length album, or album length demo, ie contain at least 6 tracks and / or have a playing time of greater than 30 minutes
b) Be self released, on a SMALL independent label, or an import not officially released in the UK
c) Have been featured on the BCFM Sunday rockshow in the year the award is for.

This is how it works...
a) Through out the year any album that meets the above criteria is entered into a long list
b) The award is judged by a panel of judges including regular listeners to the show, musicians, and other people from with in the music industry; dj's, gig promotors, record producers, music writers etc... The shortlist is compiled to give a representative balance so as many sub genres of rock are featured as possible
c) In December each year the long list is cut down to a short list of 12 based on the judges feedback and listener reaction to the album tracks featured on the show
d) In January the short list is announced
e) The judges then spend 8 weeks listening to and reviewing all the shortlisted contenders.
f) In early March the judges marks are collated and the award is announced on a special edition of the BCFM Sunday Rockshow.

There are two possible awards if no act from the Bristol area wins there is an award given to the best placed local act in the final listings...

This years 12 contenders are...

'Secret Circle' - BEST BOY ELECTRIC
'Ticket To Somewhere'  - BILLY IN THE LOWGROUND
'Tantia Furia' - BIRDEATSBABY
'Dig Two Graves' - BLEAK
'Fotoromanzia' - DELUDED BY LESBIANS
'Cemetery Junction ' - DEMON
'Dreamarcher' - DREAMARCHER
'Building Castles In The Air'- LUCID FLY
'Lineage' - SCYTHIA
'Unhallowed Ground' - SYSTEM OF HATE
'Prelude' - WYTCH HAZEL
Previous winners...
Album of the year
(2007) ' Chemical Dogs' - CRASH STREET KIDS
(2008) 'Project Destiny' - DIGNITY
(2009) 'Lunacy Box' - LUNACY BOX
(2010) 'Zer0' - V0ID
(2011) 'Songcycle 2011' - TODD DILLINGHAM
(2012) 'La Danza Del Cadvar' - LOS CRIPTIZOOS
(2013) 'Save As I Save' - ZOLTAR SPEAKS
(2014) '3' - KRANKSCHAFT 
(2015) 'Keep Fighting' - V0ID
Local Album of the Year
(2007) No Award Given
(2008) 'Psycles' - IAN RAGGETT
(2009) 'Misunderstood' - CRIMSON SKY
(2010) 'Who Am I?' - RITA LYNCH / 'Settle Up Or Settle Down' - JEBO (joint award)
(2011) 'Crack On' - RITA LYNCH
(2012) 'Return Of A Sonic Assassin' - LASTWIND
(2013) 'VI' - ONSLAUGHT
(2014) 'The Hunt' - BLACKWOLF
(2015) 'Shakedown - THE DYNAMITE PUSSY CLUB

The final award(s) will be announced on March 5th 2017

No comments:

Post a Comment