Sunday, 7 January 2018

BCFM Sunday Rockshow / Astro Radio Rock Druid Album of the Year Shortlist Announced

The BCFM Sunday Rockshow and The Rock Druid on Astro Radio are pleased to announce the twelve shortlisted albums for the ALBUM OF THE YEAR 2017.The award, now in its eleventh year, was created to celebrate the best in underground rock, metal, indie and punk, and is now a highly anticipated yearly event. This years shortlist is perhaps the strongest yet, and the 12 shortlisted contenders were selected from over 80 qualifying albums, and choosing them was not an easy task.

This years short listed albums are...

'Acid Mammoth' - ACID MAMMOTH
'The Harlot Star' - FROST GIANT
'Pulidores De Tumbas' - SACRIFICIO
'The Journey' - SONIQ THEATER
'The Nothin' Man' - THE NOTHIN' MAN
'Fighting For Everything' - TRUCKER DIABLO
'The Art Of Manipulation' - WARD XVI
Award rules....

To qualify an album must...
a) Be a full length album, or album length demo, ie contain at least 8 tracks and / or have a playing time of greater than 30 minutes
b) Be self released, on a SMALL independent label, or an import not officially released in the UK
c) Have been featured on the BCFM Sunday Rockshow and / or The Rock Druid on Astro Radio in the year the award is for.

This is how it works...
a) Through out the year any album that meets the above criteria is entered into a long list
b) The award is judged by a panel of twelve judges including regular listeners to the show, musicians, and other people from with in the music industry; dj's, gig promotors, record producers, music writers etc... The shortlist is compiled to give a representative balance so as many sub genres of rock are featured as possible
c) In December each year the long list is cut down to a short list of 12 based on the judges feedback and listener reaction to the album tracks featured on the show
d) In January the short list is announced
e) The judges then spend 8 weeks listening to and reviewing all the shortlisted contenders.
f) In early March the judges marks are collated and the award is announced on a special edition of the BCFM Sunday Rockshow.

There are two possible awards if no act from the Bristol area wins there is an award given to the best placed local act in the final listings..
Previous winners...
Album of the year
(2007) ' Chemical Dogs' - CRASH STREET KIDS
(2008) 'Project Destiny' - DIGNITY
(2009) 'Lunacy Box' - LUNACY BOX
(2010) 'Zer0' - V0iD
(2011) 'Songcycle 2011' - TODD DILLINGHAM
(2012) 'La Danza Del Cadvar' - LOS CRIPTIZOOS
(2013) 'Save As I Save' - ZOLTAR SPEAKS
(2014) '3' - KRANKSCHAFT 
(2015) 'Keep Fighting' - V0iD 
(2016) 'Lineage' - SCYTHIA
Local Album of the Year
(2007) No Award Given
(2008) 'Psycles' - IAN RAGGETT
(2009) 'Misunderstood' - CRIMSON SKY
(2010) 'Who Am I?' - RITA LYNCH / 'Settle Up Or Settle Down' - JEBO (joint award)
(2011) 'Crack On' - RITA LYNCH
(2012) 'Return Of A Sonic Assassin' - LASTWIND
(2013) 'VI' - ONSLAUGHT
(2014) 'The Hunt' - BLACK WOLF
(2015) 'Shakedown' - DYNAMITE PUSSY CLUB
(2016) 'Ticket To Somewhere' - BILLY IN THE LOWGROUND

No comments:

Post a Comment